File Annual Report

Do you know you are required by law to file an annual report for certain kinds of businesses in Connecticut?

The report ensures your business details are up to date and does not ask you for any financial information.

Who Needs to File?

If you own a corporation (both stock or nonstock), a limited liability company, a limited liability partnership, or a limited partnership, then you must file an annual business report.

How to File?

You can file your annual report right here online at Business One Stop. Simply log in to your account and follow the directions provided.

Filing Issues?

Beware Fraudsters Offering Report Filing Services

We want you to be aware that dishonest companies may offer to file your annual report in exchange for a fee. We assure you this assistance is unnecessary, as filing your annual report is a process you can easily do yourself. We are always available to help you with any questions you have about filing.

To learn more, please read this article about the annual report filing scam in our fraud center.

We recommend following these steps to safeguard your business:

1. Check your business information is accurate and note the due date for your next annual report.

2. Establish an account at to receive updates about deadlines, fraud alerts, and other important information.

3. Check our Fraud Alerts center for the latest information on businesses operating in China and scams targeting new businesses.

For additional questions, please submit a ticket here and we can help!

File Annual Reports Online

Filing annual reports online is mandatory unless you request a file by mail waiver. Our office will administratively dissolve entities that fail to file annual reports. Recent administrative dissolution activity by the office is listed here.

If you have closed your business, you do not need to file a “final report” to the Secretary of the State. Please dissolve your business instead and direct any final reportage to the Department of Revenue Services.


Effective January 1, 2020, the Business Entity Tax (BET) was eliminated. More information on the BET sunset can be found here.

Effective July 1, 2020, the filing fee for annual reports increased from $20 to $80 for LLCs, LPs, and LLPs.

Effective January 1, 2020, during the online filing process you will be required to confirm and update your registered agent information. A registered agent is a responsible third-party who is registered in the same state in which a business entity was established and who is designated to receive service of process notices and correspondence on behalf of the corporation or LLC. SCORE, a resource partner of the United States Small Business Administration, provides a detailed explanation as to the state requirement for the appointment for an agent for service of process. 

All businesses must now report their North American Industry Classification System code (NAICS code). What is a NAICS code and how to find yours.

For more information, visit our Business Entities FAQ page.


Please note the statutory fees for filling annual reports by entity type links can be found here.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an annual report?

An annual report is a report you must file yearly containing vital information about your business. The report ensures your information is accurate and up to date. Connecticut law requires annual report filings for all corporations, nonstock corporations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships and limited partnerships. The report does not require any financial information from you.

Will I receive a reminder when my annual report is due?

Yes, you will. Approximately 1 month before your report due date, we will send an email to the email address you provided to us. If you did not provide an email address, we will send a postcard to the business address you provided instead.

To see if your annual report is due, select “Search for a Business.” Search by the Business Name (be sure to enter the exact spelling) OR enter the Business ID. The “Business Inquiry” screen will appear and show when the last report was filed, and when the next annual report is due.

How do I file my annual report?

You can file your annual report online right here.

How much does an annual report cost?

Please see the table of fees under Fees, above.

I am trying to file my annual report online, but I cannot log in because it states my login name or password does not match.

Even if you filed an annual report online in the past, you may not have created a user account. We recommend all filers create an account. To retrieve a forgotten password, choose "forgot my password" and a password reset link will be sent to the email address on file. If you have never created an account, choose "create a user account" and follow the steps to create one.

What happens if I do not file my annual report?

Please be sure to file your annual report because if you don’t you risk your business being administratively dissolved as a penalty. (C.G.S. §§ 33-890 & 34-267g). Also, entities that are not up to date with their annual report filings cannot get a Certificate of Legal Existence, which may impact your ability to do business.

Contact Us


If you have questions or concerns, please contact us:

(New!) Create a Support Ticket:

Support tickets go directly to our office and an agent will respond to you by email.


All emails receive a help desk ticket -- please email for faster customer service. 

Office of the Secretary of the State of Connecticut
165 Capitol Avenue
Suite 1000
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: (860) 509-6200

Business Hours:
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., except holidays.